English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Advice on Slave Setup - Addon Domain
Advice on Slave Setup - Addon Domain 14 Years, 3 Months ago Karma: 0
Hi,

I'm having a bit of trouble configuring my slave site. I have a master site that already exists at master.com. I want to create a slave site on slave1.com that shares the same users that already exist at master.com. My plan is to have my slave site use a seperate database to the master, and use the standard jos_ prefix.

So i have purchased my slave1.com domain, set the DNS settings to point to the same as master.com. I then added an add-on domain in master.com's CPANEL, the addon domain points to the same folder path as the master install (see example below).

Master Site
Domain: master.com
Folder Path: home/user/public_html

Slave Site
Domain: slave1.com (Add-On Domain configured via CPANEL)
Folder Path: home/user/public_html (Same path as master, as suggested in user manual)

Now i have to create the slave website in the multisite component. I login to master.com administration panel. Components > Multisites > Manage Sites > New.

Now my question is, how is the best way to configure my slave1.com site. eg. From the "Templates" drop down. Do i have to use the Master DB template so i can share the master users with slave? Or is it possible to create a "fresh slave site" and still share users with the master database

Also what should i set the slave site's "deployed directory" to? Should this be left blank or should it point to a new folder?