English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Some questions about slave-site creation
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Some questions about slave-site creation
Some questions about slave-site creation 14 Years, 11 Months ago Karma: 0
I'm new to JMS, and I have some questions about what's possible with it.
We're operating in a Plesk environment, which I realize complicates things. I have some questions about that, too, but I'll save those for later.

I've been able to create new slave sites, for domains controlled by plesk, by either just redirecting the domain, or by adding httpd.conf lines to change their base directories.

Here's what I'd like to do: create slave sites, from a template, and have them use their own database, and have image and media folders in a completely different place in the directory structures. (Not in the /joomla/multisites subdirectories, because ideally the customers would have ftp access to their directories.)

I can't tell if it's possible at all. So: in creating sites from a template, is it possible to create a new database for the site, or does it have to be a new set of tables? If it is possible, how do you do it?

I want to be able to either use templates, or not, to create new slave sites. As far as I can tell, if any templates exist, it's not possible to create sites without a template. Is that correct?

If I'm creating a site without a template, is it possible to specify different locations for any directories other than 'themes'? Because those options don't seem to appear unless there's a template.

Thanks in advance for your help.
mellsworth
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph